The American Conference of Pharmaceutical Faculties has had the services of Professor Dye on important committees, and at the New Orleans meeting elected him presiding officer. He was delegate to the U. S. Pharmacopoeial Convention of 1910, and again to that of 1920, when he was elected a member of the U. S. P. Revision Committee.

Professor Dye became a member of the American Pharmaceutical Association in 1901, and has served on various committees; was Secretary of the Section on Education and Legislation during the year of 1918–1919, and at the close of this term of office was elected Chairman. His reports covering these periods are printed in Volume IX, This Journal, pp. 68 and 900.

E. G. E.

Vol. X, No. 10

VALUE OF ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIP.

Membership in an association should signify that the member is a law-abiding citizen; this is largely true, but it should be an essential qualification. The value thereof has recently been cooperatively recognized by the National Wholesale Druggists' Association and the Government, it should have a like value for other national and state associations, especially at this time, when there is danger of harmful influences from the sale of alcoholics and undesirable accessions to the drug trade; the amount of alcoholics dispensed should have some relation to total sales. This seems a matter worthy of the attention of association executives and also of conferences with those of medical associations.

There will always be transgressions, but at times a more ready acceptance by the Government seems possible and desirable of the assurance that membership in associations is dependent on observation of laws, and that when they report malfeasance truth and reason back their statements, also that their experience qualifies them to give advice in matters concerning their business and the formulation of regulations. Perhaps membership would then be more earnestly sought after, and the holding of members less difficult. While the thought is prompted by recent developments it may be worthy of serious consideration by the members and Executive Committee of the American Pharmaceutical Association.







J. A. KOCH. JOHN CULLEY. R. A. LYMAN.

Nominees for President American Pharmaceutical Association.